Clarity grading of gemstones is not standardized within the gemstone trade industry.  Only diamonds have an internationally established grading system that all jewelers follow. Gemstone dealers and retailers do, however, grade their own gemstones using standardized diamond grading terms in order to convey the clarity attributes. Although the terms are the same, it is important to note that the clarity grade definitions are slightly different for gemstones and diamonds. Gemstone clarity grading has become increasingly important for the sales of gemstones and gemstone jewelry via the internet where customers cannot see the gemstones in person.

The gemstone clarity grade is based on the number and visibility of inclusions which affect a gemstone's beauty and durability. Some gemstones naturally tend to have more inclusions than others.  For this reason, clarity ranges for gemstones are grouped into three types: Type I, Type II, and Type III. Type I stones are usually eye-clean with no inclusions visible to the naked eye. Type II stones typically show some eye-visible inclusions that don't detract from the gem's overall beauty. Type III stones are almost always included and show eye-visible inclusions.

 You will see that we only use gemstones that are of the highest quality.  Each gemstone used in our jewelry is hand picked for its exceptional clarity and beauty.


Clarity Grade




Extremely Fine Quality

Gemstones are better than eye clean (i.e., have no visible inclusions) and have very few microscopic inclusions under a 10x magnification loupe.


Extremely Fine Quality

Gemstones are eye clean and have minor microscopic inclusions which can be detected under a 10x magnification loupe.  Gemstones may have very minute visible inclusions, only seen from a side angle, but not face on.


Very Fine Quality

Minute inclusions are hardly visible to the naked eye. The beauty of the gem is not diminished in anyway.  


Fine Quality

Small inclusions and feathers are hardly visible to the naked eye. However, the overall beauty of the gem is still not diminished.  


Good Quality.

Lightly Included.

Some visible inclusions present, but not serious enough to detract from the overall appearance of the gemstone.


Medium to Good Quality.

Lightly Included.

These gems have inclusions which are moderately easy to detect with the naked eye. These inclusions are generally not visible to the friendly observer.

I1, 12 &1 3

(also SI3)

Medium to Lower Quality.


Included gems with internal flaws that are easily visible to the naked eye. Flaws will have a negative effect on the overall appearance of the gemstone.  Generally, gemstones with I1, I2 or I3 grades are only used in commercial or mass produced jewelry and not in fine jewelry.